top of page

MLB Rookie of the Year Awards Have Been Announced

Photo via The Messenger

The 2023 MLB Rookie of Year award for the AL and the NL was announced yesterday. The Baltimore Orioles shortstop, Gunnar Henderson won it for the American League. Arizona Diamondbacks outfielder, Corbin Carroll won it for the National League. Gunnar Henderson and Corbin Carroll both won unanimously.

Gunnar Henderson became the first winner of the Rookie of the Year award for the Orioles since Gregg Olson in 1989. Henderson was most definitely the best rookie in the American League and definitely deserved to win this award. Henderson slashed .255/.325/.489, with 28 HR's, 82 RBI's, and a .814 OPS. He started in 150 games for the Orioles.

Corbin Carroll became the first player in Diamondbacks history to win the National League Rookie of the Year. Just like Gunnar Henderson, Corbin Carroll was certainly the best rookie in the National League and definitely deserved this. Corbin Carroll slashed .285/.362/.506, with 25 HR's, 76 RBI's, and a .868 OPS. He made 155 starts for the Diamondbacks.

Both Gunnar Henderson and Corbin Carroll's careers are just getting started. This is a great start to their careers. Gunnar Henderson is just 22-years-old, and Corbin Carroll is just 23-years-old. It's going to be exciting to watch Henderson and Carroll next year as they will both be coming off fabulous rookie seasons.

  • Instagram
  • Youtube
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • TikTok
bottom of page