top of page

Pair of Aces Bring Home the Cy Young Awards

Photos by MLB

As the MLB awards continue on, last night the Yankees and Padres had one thing in common. Their 2023 was filled with dominate pitching by their aces. Gerrit Cole and Blake Snell were nothing short of spectacular all season long. They are now bringing home some more hardware for their cases.

The Yankees had one constant all season long and that was Gerrit Cole. Cole finished the 2023 season with a 15-4 record while posting a 2.63 ERA along with 222 strikeouts. Cole joins Roger Clemens, Ron Guidry, Sparky Lyle, Whitey Ford and Bob Turley as the only Yankees to win the honor. He also joins Guidry as the only two Yankees to bring home the award unanimously.

The Padres had the same success in their own right. Blake Snell finished 2023 with a 14-9 record while posting a 2.25 ERA along with 234 strikeouts. Snell joins Jake Peavy, Mark Davis, Garylord Perry, and Randy Jones as the only Padres to win the award. Snell is also just the 7th pitcher in history to win the award in both leagues. With his upcoming free agency, the NL Cy Young winner will instantly boost any staff he joins.

Recent Posts

See All

Pirates Place Their Closer on the IL

Yesterday the Pirates announced that they’ve placed RHP David Bednar on the 15-day injured list. The club recalled LHP Justin Bruihl from the Major League taxi squad/ Triple-A Indianapolis. Bednar wil


  • Instagram
  • Youtube
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • TikTok
bottom of page